Two Worlds Are Ours: An Introduction to Christian Mysticism

Two Worlds Are Ours: An Introduction to Christian Mysticism

In this masterful historical survey, theologian John Macquarrie demonstrates how Christians, especially the great mystics, have experienced at their own "radiant core" the love and presence of God.

The word mysticism evokes ecstatic visions, asceticism, and esoteric teaching. Yet, the author maintains, mystics are better thought of as people who exhibit common human curiosity, long to explore religious mystery, and ultimately find a deep personal relationship with God.

Macquarrie discusses in detail the ten common traits of mysticism before tracing two millennia of Christian mysticism. He mainly allows the mystics to speak for themselves, but he is also particularly insightful about the greatest individuals of the tradition — from Paul to the patristic Platonists to the classic medieval mystics to a host of twentieth-century exemplars.

  • This item is not returnable
  • Ships in 2 or more weeks
  • Quantity discount
    • # of Items Price
    • 1 to 9$23.00
    • 10 or more$17.25


  • Publisher Fortress Press
  • Format Paperback
  • ISBN 9780800637101
  • Age/Grade Range Adult
  • Dimensions 5.5 x 8.5
  • Pages 296
  • Publication Date February 21, 2005

Table of Contents

  1. What is Mysticism?
  2. Biblical Roots of Christian Mysticism: Old Testament, Moses
  3. Biblical Roots of Christian Mysticism: New Testament, Paul
  4. Greek Input, Platonism: Clement of Alexandria, Origen
  5. Greek Input, Neo-Platonism: Gregory of Nyssa, Augustine of Hippo, Dionysius the Areopagite
  6. The Dark Ages: Maximus Confessor, John of Damascus, John Scotus Eriugena
  7. The Early Middle Ages: Symeon the New Theologians, Bernard of Clairvaux, Richard of St Victor
  8. The High Middle Ages: Bonaventure, Meister Eckhart
  9. Women Mystics: Julian of Norwich, Catherine of Siena, Catherine of Genoa
  10. Some Spanish Mystics: Ignatius Loyola, Teresa of Avila, John of the Cross
  11. Post-Reformation Mystics: Jakob Böhme, Blaise Pascal, George Fox, William Law
  12. Eighteenth Century: Jonathan Edwards, John Woolman
  13. Nineteenth Century: John Keble, Søren Kierkegaard, Charles de Foucauld
  14. Twentieth Cenbury: Henri Bergson, Rudolf Otto, Pierre Teihard de Chardin, Jacques Maritain, Thomas Merton
  15. Concluding Remarks